Birth, Death & Marriage Records:
The Benton County Recorder's office has birth and death records beginning 1880 to present. Marriage records begin 1856. County registrars are not authorized by law to have records of single-parent births prior to July 1, 1995; adoptions; delayed registrations; legal changes of name; fetal deaths(stillborns); any record ordered sealed by a court of law; or birth, death, and marriages between the years 1921 to 1941. Per Iowa law, information about a specific record is not available over the telephone or by prepared lists. Iowa law provides viewing in the county where the record is maintained, or certified copies issued to entitled persons.
We can provide certified copies to entitled persons of these records for $15.00. Application can be filled out in person or by mail. Please call our office (319)472-3309 or stop in to obtain an application.
We can provide plain paper copies of Benton County records to anyone for $.50.
We can provide genealogy copies for $.50 a page.
To apply for a marriage license, an application needs to be completed by each party and 1 witness. All 3 signatures needs to be notarized. The cost is $35.00 and there is a 3 day waiting period before the actual certificate is ready to be picked up. After the ceremony, the certificate is returned to us and we will then give you or mail out your certified copy.
Applications can be filled out in person or by mail. Please call our office (319)472-3309 or stop in to obtain an application.