Marriage Records & Licenses
The Benton County Recorder's office has birth and death records beginning 1880 to present. Marriage records begin 1856. County registrars are not authorized by law to have records of single-parent births prior to July 1, 1995; adoptions; delayed registrations; legal changes of name; fetal deaths(stillborns); any record ordered sealed by a court of law; or birth, death, and marriages between the years 1921 to 1941. These records can be obtained thru Iowa Department of Public Health in Des Moines and we can forward these for you.
We can provide certified copies to entitled persons of these records. Applications can be filled out in person or by mail.
We provide plain paper copies of Benton County records for $.50.
We provide genealogy copies for $.50 a page.
Marriages from 1954 to the current date are available electronically in all counties in Iowa, regardless of where the event occurred.
When requesting a certified birth record by mail, all completed applications must be notarized and a photocopy of the applicant's valid driver's license or other government-issued picture ID is required. Make payment to the Benton County Recorder and mail to 111 East 4th St., Vinton, Iowa, 52349. All certified copies are $15 each.
Marriage License Application
The Marriage Application requires notarized signatures of both parties and one witness who is 18 years old and acquainted with both individuals. The application process includes a $35 fee to apply and a 3-day waiting period before being valid. The fee also includes a certified copy of the marriage certificate once it has been recorded.
- Apply on Monday, the license will be valid on Friday
- Apply on Tuesday, the license will be valid on Saturday
- Apply on Wednesday, the license will be valid on Sunday
- Apply on Thursday, the license will be valid on the following Monday
- Apply on Friday, the license will be valid on the following Tuesday
Please apply in person or call our office at (319) 472-3309 for an application or questions.