Partly cloudy · 72°

Search Benton County, Iowa

Stay connected with Benton County

What's Happening

View Calendar

About Benton County

Benton County was formed on December 21, 1837, from sections of Dubuque County. It was named after Thomas Hart Benton, lawyer, colonel of the War of 1812, and Senator from Missouri for a period of 30 years. Benton County is home to 14 communities and 25,575 residents.

The County is administered by a three-member Board of Supervisors who are elected for four-year terms. Other elected officials include the Attorney, Auditor, Recorder, Sheriff, and Treasurer.