THE PROCLAMATION FROM GOVERNOR REYNOLDS ON 3-20-20 - HAS NOW EXPIRED AS OF 5-2-2021
IF YOUR PERMIT EXPIRED AFTER 2-18-2020 OR DURING THE PROCLAMATION, YOU ARE NO LONGER VALID TO CARRY BUT YOU CAN RENEW FOR THE $25.00 FEE UNTIL 6-1-21.
FOR QUESTIONS CALL DURING OFFICE HOURS 319-472-2337, OPTION 3, THEN 2, 3 OR 1
IF YOUR CURRENT PERMIT WAS ISSUED BETWEEN JULY 1, 2017 and FEBRUARY 28, 2018 YOU MAY BRING YOUR PAPER PERMIT TO THE SHERIFF'S OFFICE AND EXCHANGE IT FOR THE STATE ISSUED CARD PERMIT MONDAY THRU FRIDAY FROM 0800-1600.
ALWAYS apply at the Sheriff’s Office in the county in which you live.
Applications for carry permits and permits to purchase a handgun can be downloaded from the Iowa Department of Public Safety Website at :https://dps.iowa.gov/divisions/administrative-services/weapons-permit.
There is also a Frequently Asked Questions page on this website that may be helpful to you. Weapons Law Transition FAQ for 2017.
2021 State of Iowa Law Change FAQ Link
DO NOT sign or date your application until you are at the sheriff's office to apply. In addition to a completed application, the state requires the following items to apply for a weapons permit:
For NEW CARRY Permits - Bring proof of acceptable training completed within 24 months prior to application date (EXCEPT in case of current or former member of Armed Forces, in which case the person's military small arms training can have occurred at any time prior to the filing of the application, just bring in certificate of completion), Valid driver's license or ID with current address, $50.00 cash, exact change.
If you are applying for a Professional Permit please be advised that - once you have completed the application, for security reasons, our office will contact your employer directly for verification of employment and completion of that portion of the application. If it has already been completed you will be asked to complete a new application leaving that portion blank. These permits must be renewed annually.
For RENEWAL OF CARRY Permits – Application must be 30 days or less from the expiration date of your current permit (Either before or after) OR (If Expired between 3-19-20 and 5-2-21) to renew at the $25.00 fee, exact change. THE 30 DAY PERIOD DOES NOT APPLY TO THE VALIDITY OF YOUR CURRENT PERMIT. IT ONLY APPLIES TO THE RENEWAL FEE. ONCE YOUR CURRENT PERMIT HAS EXPIRED YOU ARE NOT VALID TO CARRY UNTIL YOU RECEIVE YOUR NEW PERMIT IN THE MAIL!
IF OUTSIDE the 60 day window for renewal the $50.00 fee Applies.
IF Applicant previously held permit with our office, and has had a valid permit since January 1, 2011, no training is required.
Must bring Proof of residence ex: Valid Driver’s License or ID showing your CURRENT ADDRESS.
IF YOUR CURRENT PERMIT IS EXPIRED YOU ARE NOT VALID TO CARRY UNTIL YOU APPLY FOR AND RECEIVE A NEW PERMIT.
If your original permit was not issued in Benton County Your current permit will be processed as a TRANSFER from the county it was issued out of.
For LOST or DAMAGED permits - IF YOU HAVE LOST OR MISPLACED YOUR CURRENT PERMIT YOU ARE NOT VALID TO CARRY UNTIL YOU APPLY FOR AND RECEIVE YOUR DUPLICATE PERMIT IN THE MAIL! You must come to the office and complete a new application for a Duplicate Permit. $25.00 fee, exact change.
For PURCHASE Permits - Bring your valid driver's license or ID showing your CURRENT ADDRESS and fill out application. $25.00 fee, exact change. Purchase Permits issued after 7-1-17 will be valid for 5 years with a Fee of $15.00 for Duplicates..
OFFICE HOURS FOR GUN PERMITS hours are from 8:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m and 2:30 p.m. 4:00 p.m. Monday thru Friday.
Please be advised that WE CANNOT PROCESS DEBIT OR CREDIT CARDS. CASH PAYMENT is due at the time of service. EXACT CHANGE
Application fees: $50.00 NEW CARRY permit fee. $25.00 RENEWAL CARRY permit fee (if 30 days or less from expiration date) OR (If Expired between 3-20-20 and 5-2-21) - OTHERWISE a $50.00 applies. $25.00 DUPLICATE carry permit fee. $25.00 for NEW PURCHASE PERMIT fee. $15.00 for DUPLICATES of PURCHASE PERMITS ISSUED AFTER 7-1-17,
ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF TRAINING:
An NRA Certified Handgun Safety Course (WITHIN 24 months prior to application)
Any handgun safety course utilizing an NRA or State Law Enforcement Agency Certified instructor (WITHIN 24 months prior to application)
Any handgun safety training course offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement or security enforcement agency APPROVED by the Department of Public Safety.(WITHIN 24 months prior to application)
If former member of Armed Forces, completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United States with Honorable Discharge or General Discharge under Honorable conditions (ANYTIME PRIOR TO APPLICATION)
If current member of Armed Forces, possession of a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and qualification (ANY TIME PRIOR TO APPLICATION)
Completion of a law enforcement agency firearm safety training course that qualifies a peace officer to carry a firearm in the normal course of the peace officer's duties
Completion of a hunter education program approved by the natural resource commission pursuant to section 483A.27, if the program includes handgun safety safety training and completion of the handgun safety training is included on the certificate of completion (WITHIN 24 months prior to application).