Sunny · 50°

Weapon Permits

Office hours are Monday thru Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Always apply at the Sheriff’s Office in the county in which you live. 

Please be advised that we cannot process debit or credit cards. Cash Payment is due at the time of service. Exact change.

Carry Permit and Handgun Purchase Permit applications can be downloaded from the Iowa Department of Public Safety Website.


Do not sign or date your application until you are at the sheriff's office to apply.  In addition to a completed application, the state requires the following items to apply for a weapons permit.

Carry Permit:

Bring proof of acceptable training completed within 24 months prior to the application date (EXCEPT in case of a current or former member of Armed Forces, in which case the person's military small arms training can have occurred at any time prior to the filing of the application, just bring in the certificate of completion),  

Valid driver's license or ID (must be color) with current address, $50.00 cash, exact change.

If you are applying for a Professional Permit please be advised that once you have completed the application, for security reasons, our office will contact your employer directly for verification of employment and completion of that portion of the application. If it has already been completed you will be asked to complete a new application leaving that portion blank.  These permits must be renewed annually.

Renewal of Carry Permits

The application must be 30 days or less from the expiration date of your current permit (Either before or after) to renew at the $25.00 fee, exact change.  

  • The 30 day period does not apply to the validity of your current permit. It only applies to the renewal fee.

If outside the 60-day window for renewal the $50.00 fee Applies. 

If Applicant previously held permit with our office and has had a valid permit since January 1, 2011, no training is required. 

Valid Driver’s License or ID (must be color) showing your current address.

If your original permit was not issued in Benton County your current permit will be processed as a transfer from the county it was issued out of.

Lost or Damaged Permits

You must come to the office and complete a new application for a Duplicate Permit.

Bring valid Driver’s License or ID (must be color) showing your current address.

$25.00 fee, exact change.

Purchase Permits:

Bring your valid driver's license or ID (must be color) showing your current address and fill out an application.  

$25.00 fee, exact change.

Purchase Permits are valid for 5 years with a Fee of $15.00 for duplicates.

Application Fees

  • New Carry Permit - $50
  • Renewal Carry Permit - $25 if 30 days or less from expiration date.  If applying for renewal more than 30 days before or after your current permit expires, a $50.00 fees applies.
  • Duplicate Carry Permit - $25
  • New Purchase Permit - $25
  • Duplicates of Purchase Permits - $15

Acceptable Forms of Training

Handgun Safety Course utilizing instructor certified by the National Rifle Association (Within 24 months prior to application)

Handgun Safety Course utilizing instructor certified by a State Law Enforcement Agency (within 24 months prior to application)

Handgun safety training course utilizing instructor certified by an Iowa Department of Public Safety approved training organization. (Within 24 months prior to application)

Armed Forces small arms training (released or retired from Active Duty) -documentation of honorable discharge OR general discharge under honorable conditions (DD-214, DD-256, NGB-22, or similar)

Armed Forces small arms training (Active Duty members) - requires certificate of completion of basic training or similar, with record of successful completion of small arms training and qualification (any time prior to application)

Completion of a law enforcement agency firearm training course that qualifies a peace officer to carry a firearm

Completion of a hunter education program approved by the Natural Resource Commission, if handgun safety training is noted on the certificate of completion (within 24 months prior to application). 

Training Exempt if there is documentation that applicant  hold or held and IOWA Permit to Carry Weapons issued on or after 01/01/2011

For more information:

Iowa's New Weapon Permit Law