Light Snow · 12°

Conservation Board

The Benton County Conservation Board's duty is to serve the residents of Benton County. The Board consists of five county residents appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

Regular Meetings

Monthly meetings are held in the board meeting room of the Benton County Nature Center. Board meetings are regularly scheduled for the second Monday of each month, at 5:30 pm in summer months and 5:00 pm in winter months, unless otherwise posted. Other meetings are called as needed. Meetings are open to the public, and public notice is given for all meetings.

Board History

In 1955, the Iowa State Legislature passed a law providing for the creation of county conservation boards. In 1956, a public vote of Benton County residents authorized the creation of the Benton County Conservation Board. The BCCB was one of sixteen counties in Iowa to make a conservation board that year.  The Benton County Conservation Board (BCCB) has been working on preserving Iowa’s natural heritage since that day. The BCCB built the first man-made lake by a county conservation department in the state of Iowa, "Hannen Lake.” These properties include bike and hiking trails, preserves, boat ramps, and campground facilities.

Conservation Board

Dan Hill
Term Ends: 12/31/24
Term Length: 5 Years
Mike LaGrange
Term Ends: 12/31/25
Term Length: 5 Years
Denni Randall, Chair
Belle Plaine
Term Ends: 12/31/23
Term Length: 5 Years
Randy Scheel
Term Ends: 12/31/27
Term Length: 5 Years
Becky Van Wey
Term Ends: 12/31/26
Term Length: 5 Years
Tracy Seeman
Board of Supervisors Liaison

2023 Conservation Board Meetings

January 9, 2023 · 5:00pm

2022 Conservation Board Meetings